First Pan-African Women in Tech virtual meetup in August

The first ever pan-African Women in Tech meet up will take place as a virtual event in August, supported by simultaneous live viewing events in Uganda, South Africa and Ghana.

Organised by Women in Tech Ghana, Women in Tech Zambia, Women in Tech Uganda, and Girls in ICT Rwanda, the event aims to bring together women working in technology across the continent. The organisers note that “some Women in Technology clubs exist already, but to date, no-one has attempted to build a pan-African network, allowing us to compare our challenges, learn from other countries and connect across borders to expand our influence.”

They elaborate: “Working in technology can, at times, be an isolating experience for women, especially in Africa. The impact of this can limit women’s professional growth in the sector. Women need mentors, role-models and a network to share their experiences, challenges and skills.”

The meetup will be staged on 2 August 2014, at 12pm GMT:2pm CAT :3pm EAT - [1 hour].

Register for live stream event or viewing parties at https://womentechafrica.wordpress.com

Share this News
Share |
Subscribe to our Daily Newsletter here
comments powered by Disqus