Telecom Namibia boosts regional knowledge portal

Telecom Namibia, the Polytechnic of Namibia and Gobabis-based Ounongo Technology Centre have launched a pilot project for a regional knowledge and service portal involving a number of schools the Omaheke Region.

The Polytechnic’s School of Information Technology will conceptually support the pilot project on a technical, capacity building research and development level, while the OTC’s responsibility is to logistically drive the project on a day-to-day basis. Telecom Namibia will provide financial support and technical solutions.

“This is a novel project for Namibia,” said Oiva Angula, Senior Manager: Corporate Communications and Public Relations at Telecom Namibia.

 “We see this knowledge portal we are announcing today as having great value for Learning, Information and Communication for the beneficiaries. Consequently, through the knowledge portal we will seek to connect, inform and share,” Angula added.

The project received the nod from the Regional Director Education in Omaheke Region.

 “This initiative is a community outreach project aiming to support local rural school curricular and extra-curricular activities as well as to build capacity and to promote ICT in communities so as to foster a knowledge-based economy,” said Dr. Heike Winschiers-Theophilus, Director Software Engineering  of the School of Information Technology at the Polytechnic of Namibia.

Dr. Winschiers-Theophilus said that web portals had become a major source of knowledge and information for diverse populations across the world in the last decade. “When portals are effectively used, they allow for self-paced learning, virtual instruction and other web services where the portal provides links to cultural/technological information that is inextricably connected to other web-based sources,” she said.

The proposed portal, with six the local rural nodes, will provide an ICT platform providing for various access nodes of knowledge, knowledge co-creation and collaboration as part of national efforts to build a technology-driven nation.

The six pilot schools selected as rural nodes are:

  • Rietquelle Junior Secondary School, Aminuis
  • Mokganedi Thlabanello High School, Drimiopsis
  • Epukiro Post 3 Junior Secondary School, Epukiro
  • Gustaf Kandjii Junior Secondary School, Otjinene
  • Donkerbos Primary School, Donkerbos/Sonneblom
  • Claudius Heuva Combined School, Talismanus

Angula said the objective is to create a sustainable and workable model which will be replicated further in other parts of the country. He thus urged the project initiators to engage the Ministry of Education, Ministry of Information and Communication Technology and Xnet Development Alliance Trust for the successful execution of this important pilot project.

Share this News
Share |
Subscribe to our Daily Newsletter here